My Victim Survey by Caitlin McGhee

Image

 

I carried out my Victim Survey on 5 participants taken from Opportunity Sampling in the Library of Richard Taunton Sixth Form College.

 

After establishing the gender, ethnicity and age of my respondents from questions one, two and three, which are variables it helps to be considered when analysing the results, I then asked the respondents questions about their personal experiences of being a victim of crime, which is what the survey is set to find out.

I found that 60% of respondents have been a victim of crime, these crimes included:

  • Hate Crime
  • Knife Crime
  • Assault
  • Breaking and Entering
  • Theft

 

I also asked participants approximately how many people they know who have been a victim of crime and found that:

Image

 

A way to improve my Victim Survey would be to carry it out on more people, in order to get more generalisable and valid results. I also need to ensure the questions I ask are easily understandable and won’t lead the respondent to any confusion when answering them.

 

Posted on June 18, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

